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                   The Ohio State Board of Cosmetology 

               
                                                     1929 Gateway Circle Grove City, Ohio 43123 
                        Phone:  (614) 466-3834  Fax:  (614) 644-6880 www.cos.ohio.gov 

                                                                                            
 

PROVIDER INSTRUCTIONS FOR COURSE APPROVAL 
 

INTERNET COURSE ONLY 
 

Course approval will be valid for the licensing period  
February 01, 2015 through January 31, 2017. 

 
Course application and required documentation must be received 

by the Board at least 45 days prior to initial course offering to 
allow for the approval process to be completed. 

 
 

Internet courses are provided online ONLY.  If you would like to offer the same 
CE course in a correspondence format, please follow the correspondence course 
requirements and submit a separate application and fee. 
 
Application, course requirements and payment must be mailed to:  
 

Ohio State Board of Cosmetology 
1929 Gateway Circle 

Grove City, Ohio 43123 
 

NOTICE TO PROVIDERS 
 
All licensees holding an active basic or managing license in Cosmetology, Hair 
Design, Natural Hair Styling, Manicuring, or Esthetics are required to receive eight 
(8) hours of CE per license between February 1, 2015 and January 31, 2017.  Of 
those eight (8) hours one (1) hour must be devoted to education on human 
trafficking.   
 
Additionally, licensees who hold an Independent Contractors license are 
required have  two (2) of the eight (8) hours devoted to education in business, state 
laws and rules, and tax information.   
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 INTERNET COURSE REQUIREMENTS 
 
Items 1-4 must be submitted for initial CE course approval: 

 
1. Course Application – All fields must be completed and application must be signed by provider.   
 
2. Course Fee $250.00 (per course) Fee is non-refundable.   

 Money Order, Personal or Corporate Checks Made Payable To:   
      TREASURER STATE OF OHIO 
 If sending in multiple course applications, please keep check/money order amount 

limited to (two) 2 applications or $500. 
                         

3. Course Outline(s) Requirements 
 Hours can only be given for educational time (Registration, promotions, printing out 

certificates, etc.) cannot be included in CE hours given.   
 Outline(s) must include a full course description including time frames. 
 All courses regardless of the subject matter shall contain information on infection 

control and/or safety.  A full description must be included on outline. 
 Entire course content must be included.  
 Course must be comprised of separate whole hour segments.   
 Subject matter must be contained within one hour segments.  
 A minimum of 6,000 words per hour segment of educational material must be 

presented. Word count for each segment must be included.  
 Each hour segment of material shall be randomly changed each time the course is 

offered. 
 A minimum of six (6) multiple choice questions embedded in each hour segment is 

required. 
 A bank of randomized test questions, with five (5) different versions of each question is 

required. 
 The licensee shall NOT receive credit for the course unless a total score of seventy-five 

(75) percent or higher is achieved. To prevent the licensee from receiving CE credit 
hours for time logged off the program; a means of timing the course to subtract the 
logged off time is required 

 All or part of a course may contain information about human trafficking (1 Hour). 
 All or part of a course may include information on business, state laws and rules and tax 

information to meet the two (2) hour requirement for independent contractors. 
 

4.  Video/Digital Web Course Outline Requirements 
 If the educational material is in the form of on-line video, digital web, or live on-line 

presentation, at the discretion of the board, each hour segment of the presentation shall be 
considered the equivalent of the 6,000 word requirement.  

 Full course description  
 Detailed course outline and the script or storyboard including timeframes. 
 The provider of a video, digital web or live on-line presentation shall follow the 

requirement for testing the licensees on the course material as set forth in the 
requirements above.  The licensee shall NOT receive credit for the course unless a total 
score of seventy-five (75) percent or higher is achieved.  
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Educator(s) Resume/Bio 
 Credentials to support the qualifications of each educator and person developing the 

course shall be submitted.  
 Credentials must be directly related to the submitted course curriculum. 
 

Electronic Sign-In Sheet Submission - Required 
 A list of all licensees completing an approved CE course must be emailed to 

cathy.franklin@cos.state.oh.us  in an Excel spreadsheet attachment. 
 This submission must be received by the Board within fifteen (15) days of course completion. 
 Record(s) of attendance must be maintained by the course provider for a minimum of four years.   

 
Course Date Notification 

Once course is approved the contact information will be loaded to our website CE course directory until 
the expiration date. 
 

Instructor CE Courses  
 Course must be designed for instructor CE only and cannot be combed with other scope 

of practice material. 
 Must contain information regarding infection control and/or safety. Full description 

must be included.  
 Curriculum for instructor only classes must be based on topics related to the instruction 

of cosmetology.  For example: 
       Direct Instructional Activity                  Lesson Plan Development 
       How-to-Instructional Course                 Instructional Methods                        
       How to Teach Hands-on-Learning   
    

Course Approval Numbers 
Course approval numbers shall not be published on any advertisements, websites, correspondence books, 
etc. Approval numbers shall only be provided to a licensee upon completion of the approved course.   
 
Upon course approval, the CE provider will receive an approval letter that will contain the course 
approval number for that individual approved course.  The approval number will be valid until the 
expiration date listed on the CE course approval letter. 
 
Certificate of Completion – Required  
Provider shall present all licensees completing a CE course with a certificate immediately upon 
the licensee’s completion of the course.   Each certificate of completion must contain the following:                      

CE course approval number    Number of CE hours 
Title of CE course    Date of course 
Name/address of course provider  Name/Ohio license ID # of attendee    

 
It is the responsibility of the CE provider to maintain attendance records for a minimum of four 
years.   
         

Applications which fail to meet the stated criteria will be rejected. 
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NOTICE: 
 
Courses designed for estheticians or cosmetologists that include education on 
chemical, mechanical or electrical services, such as microdermabrasion or 
chemical peels must include manufacturer’s information/MSDS sheets to 
ensure the machine and/or product is within the scope of practice permitted 
by the board.  
 
 
Estheticians and Cosmetologists must adhere to the following guidelines: 
 
Exfoliate stratum corneum cells only. They may use any chemical, mechanical or 
electrical service that only exfoliates cells of the stratum corneum. Proper 
advanced practice training from the manufacturer or the manufacturer's certified 
representative shall be required prior to service to the public as set forth in rule 
4713-8-09 of the Administrative Code. The manufacturer's certificate of training 
shall be displayed in a publicly conspicuous place. 
 
Provide treatments only utilizing equipment not to exceed one hundred eighty 
nanometers, or a class one medical device as defined by the food and drug 
administration of the United States department of health and human services. 
 
Chemical peels shall be mixed and used at an ingredient concentration of thirty per 
cent solution or less at final formulation with a pH value not less than three. 
 
 
A full version of requirements can be located on our website at www.cos.ohio.gov, 
click on the Laws & Rules tab then select the Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) 
Chapter 8- Standards of safe and effective practice.  
 
 
 
Contact Information:  
Cathy Franklin 
Continuing Education Administration 
Phone:  614-728-8197       
Email – cathy.franklin@cos.state.oh.us   
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Course Attendee Notification Instructions: 
 A listing of any licensee completing a CE course must be received by the Board within 

fifteen (15) days of course completion. 
 
 List must be received via email in an Excel spreadsheet format attachment.  All 

information must be entered in the order shown below.  Please do not delete any columns 
from spreadsheet.  

  
 All attendance list  should be emailed to cathy.franklin@cos.state.oh.us 

 
 
Sample spreadsheet provided below: 
 

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O 
Course 
# 

Course 
Name 

Hr. Date Leave 
Blank 

Leave 
Blank 

Prov. 
Name 

Type St Instructor 
Name 

Attendee 
First Name 

Attendee 
Last Name 

ID # Gra
de 

Memo 

150001 Color 101 2 6/1/13   Board Tanning OH John Doe Jane Doe 951110 95 Internet 
160002 Make-up 4 7/15/13   Board Tanning OH John Doe Pat Doe 871221 85 Internet 
160002 Make-up 4 7/15/13   Board Tanning OH John Doe Linda  Doe 100110 90 Internet 

 
 
A Approval number only. NO Letters 
B Name of course (Same as on approval letter) 
C Hours given for online class  (Same as on approval letter) 
D Date of completion 
E Leave Blank – Information not required   Do not delete column  
F Leave Blank – Information not required   Do not delete column 
G Name of course provider 
H Type - Internet 
I State where provider is located 
J Name of course instructor 
K First name of person taking course 
L Last name of person taking course 
M Board ID# of person taking course (Must consist of six (6) numbers ONLY- DO NOT include license prefix)  
N Grade received on course completion test 
O Memo 
 
 
 

NOTE: 
When submitting the attendee record information, please format the attendee board ID 
number column (M) to ensure all six (6) numbers remain listed.    Please do NOT substitute 
the letter “O” in place of a zero.  
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Sample Certificate: 

 
 
 
Certificates should be customized by individual Providers however; the information given in the 
sample certificate must be presented in some style to any licensee completing an Internet CE 
course.   
 

CE Certificate of Completion 
 
 
Name of Licensee: ________________________________________  Ohio Board ID Number _________________  
 
Course Title:            Course Approval Number ____________________ 
      
CE Hours:  ___________________________    Test Score:  ______________________ 
 
Date of class: _________________________    Name of Course Provider: _________________________________ 

 
 

 
The CE Provider is responsible for ensuring that any licensee taking a CE class is given a 

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION. 
 

Licensees will need this information for proof of attendance and submission for CE audit. 
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                              The Ohio State Board of Cosmetology 
               
                                                                             1929 Gateway Circle Grove City, Ohio 43123 
                                             Phone:  (614) 466-3834  Fax:  (614) 644-6880 www.cos.ohio.gov 

 

    CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPLICATION 
INTERNET 

2015-2017 
                                             This is a fill-in document-Please type. 
FEE $250.00 (Non-Refundable) 
MONEY ORDER, PERSONAL OR CORPORATE CHECKS ONLY –  
MADE PAYABLE TO:  TREASURER STATE OF OHIO 
 
PROVIDER NAME:       TYPE OF BUSINESS: 
 
__________________________________________________________              (  )  SCHOOL 
         (  )   MANUFACTURER 
__________________________________________________________              (  )   ASSOCIATION 
STREET ADDRESS (Where correspondence will be mailed)   (  )   OTHER _________________ 
          
____________________________       _________       __________________ 
CITY         STATE             ZIP 
            
CONTACT PERSON:  _____________________________ PHONE NUMBER:   _________________________  
 
EMAIL (Required): ____________________________________________________________________________  
 
WEBSITE (Required):  __________________________________________________________________________                  
 
COURSE NAME:  _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
CE CREDIT HOURS:  _______                     
 
TYPE OF TRAINING:   ____ WORKSHOP ____ SEMINAR _____ DEMONSTRATION ____ SPEAKER 
 
CHECK THE APPROPRIATE ELIGIBLE LICENSE CATEGORY:    

 
 
 
 

I understand in order to receive CE course approval; the information must be received by the Board at 
least 30 days prior to initial course offering.             ____________________________ 
                                                         (Responsible Party) 
 
I understand that failure to comply with any of the rules and/or instructions pertaining to providing 
continuing education courses may result in disciplinary action. The board may suspend, revoke, or 
deny the approval of an instructor or provider that fails to comply.  
 
________________________________  ___________________________________    ________ 
Print Name (Responsible Party)                Signature             Date 

Cosmetologist 
Hair, Skin, Nails 

Manicurist 
Nail care only 

Esthetician 
Skin care only 

Hair Designer 
Hair care only 

Natural Hair 
Braids & 
Extensions 

Instructor 
Only 
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