
 
Manager Examination Based on Work Experience  

 
Qualifications for an Manager’s Examination  

 
You must document 1(one) year of full time work experience (2000) hours and hold a current 
active license. 
 
Once the application is completed, print the application, it must be signed in the pres-
ence of a notary. Mail the completed application and fee to the address listed on the top 
of the application. 
 
The following must be submitted with this application: 
 $31.50 Examination fee in the form of a Check or Money Order made payable to:  
      Treasurer State of Ohio. 
 One recent full face view wallet size (2.5” x 3.5”) photo of yourself. 
 A copy of your current driver’s license or State ID with picture 

Examination fees are non-refundable and cannot be transferred to another date. 
 

EXAMINATION “NO SHOW” FEE 
Applicants that fail to attend the scheduled examination date, must contact the Board office a 
minimum of 48 hours prior to the scheduled examination date by calling/voicemail 614-644-9217 
or emailing examcancellation@cos.state.oh.us  Emails or voice messages not left at the desig-
nated email address or voicemail number will not be accepted.  Failure to provide 48 hour notice 
of cancellation will increase the reschedule fee(s) as follows: Practical/Written/Managers $80.00  
Practical/Written $40.00  Managers Only $40.00 

 
ADA Requirements 
If ADA accommodations are necessary, you must submit a notarized statement from your  
physician indicating your necessary accommodations. This statement MUST be submitted with 
this application.  
 
Specific Dates 
Most generally Managers Examinations are scheduled on Mondays, if you are unavailable for 
specific dates or a period of time, written notification must be submitted with this application. 
 
Preparing for the Manager’s Examination 
The Manager’s examination consist of fifty (50) multiple choice questions. To better enable you 
to prepare for the Manager’s examination, we suggest you refer to the Manager’s Testing Infor-
mation Packet (TIP) located on our website under examinations. Also study the Ohio Administra-
tive Code and Ohio Revised Code located under the Laws and Rules tab on our website. 
 
Examination Results 
You will receive same day examination results. Should you pass, you will need to surrender your 
current basic license and submit a required fee of $45.00 for your Manager’s license.  

 
Admittance to the Examination 
You must provide a current valid photo identification to be admitted to the examination. 
 Current Drivers License 
 Current Valid State Issued Identification with photo 
 Current School Year Identification with photo 
 Current Valid Passport 
 Current Valid Alien Resident Card 
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 MANAGER’S EXAMINATION APPLICATION ~ BASED ON WORK EXPERIENCE 

 
EXAM: $ 31.50  
PLEASE MAKE CHECK or MONEY ORDER 
MADE PAYABLE TO:   TREASURER, STATE OF OHIO  
CASH WILL BE RETURNED.   
  
 

Must submit one recent photo of  
applicant with this application. 
Photo should be approximately 
2.5" x 3.5”, with a full-face view. 
The photo will be stamped/sealed 
and returned for identification  
purposes and must be displayed 
with license.  
 
Please print your name and 
Board ID# on back of photo. 

Affidavit  -  This Section Must be Notarized 
State of Ohio__________________ 
 
County   __________________   
I hereby swear, or affirm, that the statements on this record are true and     
accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief .  
 
 
   SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT (Must be signed in front of Notary)  

Subscribed in my presence and sworn to before me this     day  
      of   , 20  
 NOTARY 
 

    SEAL 
     NOTARY PUBLIC (Commission expiration date required) 

FULL NAME   LAST    FIRST    MIDDLE     MAIDEN 

ADDRESS  STREET      CITY           COUNTY   STATE   ZIP 

CONTACT NUMBER AND AREA CODE                    EMAIL ADDRESS 

DATE OF BIRTH  MONTH  DAY  YEAR             SEX               SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL ATTENDED       

ADDRESS  STREET      CITY     STATE   ZIP 

            

 
Current Ohio Cosmetology ID number:_______________________ 

 
A copy of driver’s license or State ID with picture is required. 

        
 

Amount Received  $ ___________________ 

The Ohio State Board of Cosmetology 

                                                 1929 Gateway Circle Grove City, Ohio 43123 
                   Phone:  (614) 466-3834  Fax:  (614) 644-6880 www.cos.ohio.gov 
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I, (Salon Owner/Manager/Patron)_______________________________________________________  hereby swear  or 
                                         ( CIRCLE ONE)   
 affirm (name of employee and Ohio ID# )_____________________________________________________has been  
 
in my employ from ________/__________/_________to ________/________/_________ “Present is not acceptable: 
                                   Month                     Date                      Year                               Month                   Date                      Year 
 

Name of Salon  ____________________________________________  Salon Identification Number_______________ 
 
Address, City, State and Zip Code____________________________________________________________________ 
                                                       

Affidavit - This Section Must be Notarized 
State of Ohio________________________________ 
 
County_____________________________________  SS: _____________________________________  
 
I swear or affirm that all information contained in this application and the documents attached are true and accurate to the best of my 
knowledge and belief. 
      _______________________________________________________________ 
      Signature of Owner/Manager/Patron (Must be signed in front of the notary) 
 
Subscribed in my presence and sworn to before me this  _________ day of   _______________________   20_______ 
 
 
______________________________________________________      Notary Seal  
(Notary Public—Commission Expiration Date is Required) 

Certification of One Year’s Work Experience  
Documentation of one year’s work experience must be verified by your employer (s).  If you have worked for two or 
more employers, please have each employer complete the form below to substantiate one year’s work experience 
(equal to 2000 hours).  Part time can be counted for only those hours actually worked.  Each signature must be nota-
rized to verify one year’s work experience.  Time accumulated on a work permit does not count toward the one 
year’s work experience.  If your previous employer is no longer in business, you must obtain notarized statements 
from two patrons on whom you performed cosmetology services to substantiate your full year’s work experience. The 
patron may use this form; salon ID #  and address are not required. 

I, (Salon Owner/Manager/Patron)_______________________________________________________  hereby swear  or 
                            ( CIRCLE ONE)   
 affirm (name of employee and Ohio ID# )_____________________________________________________has been 
 
 in my employ from ________/__________/_________to ________/________/_________ “Present is not acceptable: 
                                     Month                     Date                      Year                             Month                   Date                      Year 
 

Name of Salon  ____________________________________________  Salon Identification Number_______________ 
 
Address, City, State and Zip Code____________________________________________________________________ 
                                                       

       ____________________________________________________________________ 
 

Affidavit - This Section Must be Notarized 
State of Ohio________________________________ 
 
County_____________________________________  SS: _____________________________________  
 
I swear or affirm that all information contained in this application and the documents attached are true and accurate to the best of my 
knowledge and belief. 
      _______________________________________________________________ 
      Signature of Owner/Manager/Patron (Must be signed in front of the notary) 
 
Subscribed in my presence and sworn to before me this  _________ day of   _______________________   20_______ 
 
 
______________________________________________________      Notary Seal  
(Notary Public—Commission Expiration Date is Required) 
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