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                   The Ohio State Board of Cosmetology 

               
                                                     1929 Gateway Circle Grove City, Ohio 43123 
                        Phone:  (614) 466-3834  Fax:  (614) 644-6880 www.cos.ohio.gov 

 
 

PROVIDER INSTRUCTIONS FOR COURSE APPROVAL 
 

 SEMINAR, WORKSHOP, DEMONSTRATION COURSES  
 

 
Course approval will be valid for the licensing period beginning  

February 01, 2015 through January 31, 2017. 
 

Course application and required documentation must be received by 
the Board at least 30 days prior to initial course offering to allow for 

the approval process to be completed. 
 
Application, course requirements, and payment must be mailed to:  

Ohio State Board of Cosmetology 
1929 Gateway Circle 

Grove City, Ohio 43123 
 

NOTICE TO PROVIDERS 
2015-2017 Continuing Education requirements for licensees are as follows: 

 
All licensees holding an active basic or managing license in Cosmetology, Hair 
Design, Natural Hair Styling, Manicuring, or Esthetics are required to receive eight 
(8) hours of CE per license between February 1, 2015 and January 31, 2017.  Of those 
eight (8) hours one (1) hour must be devoted to education on human trafficking.   
 
Additionally, licensees who hold an Independent Contractors license are required 
have  two (2) of the eight (8) hours devoted to education in business, state laws and 
rules, and tax information.   
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SEMINAR, WORKSHOP, DEMONSTRATION  
COURSES APPROVAL REQUIREMENTS 

 
 
Items 1-4 must be submitted for initial CE course approval: 
 

1. Course Application - All fields must be completed and application must be signed by provider.   
 

2. Course Fee $100.00 (per course) Fee is non-refundable. 
 Money Order, Personal or Corporate Checks Made Payable To:  

     TREASURER STATE OF OHIO 
 If sending in multiple course applications, please limit check/money order amount to  
      5 applications or $500. 
 

3. Course Outline(s) 
 Must include a full course description including timeframes.  
 Must be comprised of whole hour intervals.   
 Hours can only be given for educational time (Registration, promotions, passing out 

certificates, hard sell of products, etc.) shall not be included in number of CE hours given.  
 All courses regardless of the subject matter shall contain information on infection control   

and/or safety.  A full description must be included on outline. 
 All or part of a course may contain information about human trafficking (1 Hour). 
 All or part of a course may include information on business, state laws and rules and tax 

information to meet the two (2) hour requirement for independent contractors.  
 
4.    Educator(s) Credentials  

 Credentials to support the qualifications of each educator and person developing the course 
shall be submitted.  

 Credentials must be directly related to the submitted course curriculum. 
 

5. Electronic Course Date Submission - Required 
 Electronic course date notification for approved courses must be received at least fifteen (15) 
     days prior to any course offering.   
 Course dates must be sent via email in an Excel spreadsheet attachment.    

Email to:   cathy.franklin@cos.state.oh.us 
 

6. Electronic Sign-In Sheet Submission - Required 
 A list of all licensees completing an approved CE course must be emailed to 

cathy.franklin@cos.state.oh.us  in an Excel spreadsheet attachment. 
 This submission must be received by the Board within fifteen (15) days of course completion. 
 Record(s) of attendance must be maintained by the course provider for a minimum of four years.   
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NOTICE: 
 
Courses designed for estheticians or cosmetologists that include education on 
chemical, mechanical or electrical services, such as microdermabrasion or 
chemical peels must include manufacturer’s information/MSDS sheets to ensure 
the machine and/or product is within the scope of practice permitted by the 
board.  
 
 
Estheticians and Cosmetologists must adhere to the following guidelines: 
 
Exfoliate stratum corneum cells only. They may use any chemical, mechanical or 
electrical service that only exfoliates cells of the stratum corneum. Proper advanced 
practice training from the manufacturer or the manufacturer's certified representative 
shall be required prior to service to the public as set forth in rule 4713-8-09 of the 
Administrative Code. The manufacturer's certificate of training shall be displayed in a 
publicly conspicuous place. 
 
Provide treatments only utilizing equipment not to exceed one hundred eighty 
nanometers, or a class one medical device as defined by the food and drug 
administration of the United States department of health and human services. 
 
Chemical peels shall be mixed and used at an ingredient concentration of thirty per 
cent solution or less at final formulation with a pH value not less than three. 
 
 
A full version of requirements can be located on our website at www.cos.ohio.gov, click 
on the Laws & Rules tab then select the Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) Chapter 8- 
Standards of safe and effective practice.  
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Instructor CE Courses  
 Course must be designed for instructor CE only and cannot be combed with other scope of 

practice material. 
 Must contain information regarding infection control.  Full description must be included.  
 Curriculum for instructor only classes must be based on topics related to the instruction of 

cosmetology.  For example: 
 
         Direct Instructional Activity                  Lesson Plan Development 

      How-to-Instructional Course                 Instructional Methods                        
      How to Teach Hands-on-Learning   
             
    

Course Approval Numbers 
Course approval numbers shall not be published on any advertisements, websites, correspondence books, etc. 
Approval numbers shall only be provided to a licensee upon completion of the approved course.   
 
Upon course approval, the CE provider will receive an approval letter that will contain the course approval 
number for that individual approved course.  The approval number will be valid until the expiration date listed 
on the CE course approval letter. 
 
 
Certificate of Completion – Required  
Provider shall present all licensees completing a CE course with a certificate immediately upon the  
licensee’s completion of the course.   Each certificate of completion must contain the following:        
               
           CE course approval number   Number of CE hours 
 Title of CE course    Date of course 
 Name/address of course provider  Name/Ohio license ID # of attendee    
 
It is the responsibility of the CE provider to maintain attendance records for a minimum of four years.   

 
 

Applications which fail to meet the stated criteria will be rejected. 
 

 
 
Contact Information:  
Cathy Franklin 
Continuing Education Administration 
Phone: 614-728-8197       
Email – cathy.franklin@cos.state.oh.us   
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Course Date Notification Instructions: 
 Electronic course date notification must be received at least fifteen (15) days prior to giving 

an approved CE course.   
 

 Course dates must be received via email in an Excel spreadsheet attachment.  All 
information must be entered in the order shown below.  Please do not delete any columns 
from spreadsheet.  

 
 All course dates should be emailed to cathy.franklin@cos.state.oh.us 

 
Sample Date Notification Spreadsheet:   
 

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N 

Course # Crse 
Name 

Hrs Date Begin 
Time 

End 
Time 

Prov. 
Name 

Street 
Address 

Leave 
Blank 

City St Zip Contact 
Name/ 
phone  

Class Type 
Private or 
Public 

000111 Rules 2 7/1/10 8:00 am 10:00 
am 

Board 111 E. 
Street 

 Grove 
city 

OH 43213 Jane/888-
8888 

Public 

 
A Approval number only. NO Letters 
B Name of course (Same as on approval letter) 
C Hours given for online coursework (Same as on approval letter) 
D Date of completion 
E Beginning time of class  
F Ending time of class 
G Name of course provider 
H Street Address- Where class will be held 
I Leave Blank – Information not required.  Do not delete column 
J City- Where class is held 
K State – Where class is held 
L Zip – where class is held 
M Name and contact number for course information 
N Class type- Public or Private (Private class indicates invitation only) 
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Course Attendee Notification Instructions: 

 A listing of all licensees completing a CE course must be received by the Board within 
fifteen (15) days of the course completion. 

 
 List must be sent via email to cathy.franklin@cos.state.oh.us in an Excel spreadsheet 

attachment.  All information must be entered in the order shown below.  Please do not delete 
any columns from spreadsheet.  

 
Sample Attendee Spreadsheet: 
 

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O 
Course 
# 

Course 
Name 

Hr Date Begin 
Time 

End 
Time 

Prov. 
Name 

City St Instr. 
Name 

Attendee 
First 
Name 

Attendee 
Last Name 

ID # Leave 
Blank 

Mem
o 

150001 Color 101 2 6/1/13 8:00 
am 

10:00 
am 

Board Grove 
city 

OH John Doe Jane Doe 951110   

160002 Make-up 4 7/15/13 10:00 
am 

2:00 
pm 

Board Grove 
city 

OH John Doe Pat Doe 871221   

160002 Make-up 4 7/15/13 10:00 
am 

2:00 
pm 

Board Grove 
city 

OH John Doe Linda  Doe 100110   

 
 
A Approval number only. NO Letters 
B Name of course (Same as on approval letter) 
C Hours given for online class (Same as on approval letter) 
D Date of completion 
E Beginning time of class  
F Ending time of class 
G Name of course provider 
H City- Where class was held 
I State where provider is located 
J Name of course instructor 
K First name of person taking course 
L Last name of person taking course 
M Board ID# of person taking course (Must consist of six (6) numbers ONLY- DO NOT include license prefix)  
N Leave Blank – Do Not Delete Column 
O Memos 
 
 

NOTE: 
When submitting the attendee record information, please format the attendee board ID 
number column (M) to ensure all six (6) numbers remain listed.    Please do NOT substitute the 
letter “O” in place of a zero.  
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Sample Certificate 

 
Certificates should be customized by individual Providers however; the information given in the 
sample certificate must be presented in some style to any licensee completing a CE course.   
 

CE Certificate of Completion 
 
 
Name of Licensee: ________________________________________ Ohio Board ID Number _________________  
 
Course Title:            Course Approval Number ____________________ 
      
CE Hours:  ___________________________    Name of Course Provider: _________________________________ 
 
Date of class: _________________________    City Where Class Was Given: ______________________________ 

 
 
 

The CE Provider is responsible for ensuring that any licensee taking a CE class is given a 
CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION. 

 
Licensees are required to provide this information as proof of attendance  

for license renewal and CE audit. 
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                            The Ohio State Board of Cosmetology 
               
                                                                             1929 Gateway Circle Grove City, Ohio 43123 
                                             Phone:  (614) 466-3834  Fax:  (614) 644-6880 www.cos.ohio.gov 

 

    CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPLICATION 
                                                 SEMINAR, WORKSHOP, DEMONSTRATION 

2015-2017 
                         This is a fill-in document-Please type. 
FEE $100.00 (Non-Refundable) 
MONEY ORDER, PERSONAL OR CORPORATE CHECKS ONLY –  
MADE PAYABLE TO:  TREASURER STATE OF OHIO 
 
PROVIDER NAME:       TYPE OF BUSINESS: 
 
__________________________________________________________              (  )  SCHOOL 
         (  )   MANUFACTURER 
__________________________________________________________              (  )   ASSOCIATION 
STREET ADDRESS (Where correspondence will be mailed)   (  )   OTHER _________________ 
          
____________________________       _________       __________________ 
CITY         STATE             ZIP 
            
CONTACT PERSON:  _____________________________ PHONE NUMBER:   _________________________  
 
EMAIL (Required): ____________________________________________________________________________  
 
WEBSITE (Optional):  __________________________________________________________________________                  
 
COURSE NAME:  _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
CE CREDIT HOURS:  _______                     
 
TYPE OF TRAINING:   ____ WORKSHOP ____ SEMINAR _____ DEMONSTRATION ____ SPEAKER 
 
CHECK THE APPROPRIATE ELIGIBLE LICENSE CATEGORY:    

 
 
 
 

I understand in order to receive CE course approval; the information must be received by the Board at 
least 30 days prior to initial course offering.             ____________________________ 
                                                         (Responsible Party) 
 
I understand that failure to comply with any of the rules and/or instructions pertaining to providing 
continuing education courses may result in disciplinary action. The board may suspend, revoke, or 
deny the approval of an instructor or provider that fails to comply.  
 
________________________________  ___________________________________    ________ 
Print Name (Responsible Party)                Signature             Date 

Cosmetologist 
Hair, Skin, Nails 

Manicurist 
Nail care only 

Esthetician 
Skin care only 

Hair Designer 
Hair care only 

Natural Hair 
Braids & 
Extensions 

Instructor 
Only 
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