Cosmetology and Barber Board Announcements

Cosmetology Renewal Locations - Tuesday, November 27, 2018

License renewal assistance being offered in various locations throughout the state.  A Board employee will be available at the locations listed below to assist with renewing your license.

December
Tuesday, Dec. 18

Thursday, Dec. 20

January
Tuesday, Jan. 8
Thursday, Jan. 10
Tuesday, Jan. 29
Thursday, Jan. 31
 
Time

11:00 am-3:00 pm

School Locations
Preston’s Beauty Academy - 000617
Marietta   (Washington County)
 
Brown Aveda Institute - 000695
Strongsville (Cuyahoga County)
 
Casal Aveda Institute - 000656
Austintown (Mahoning County)
 
Creative Images Institute - 000690
Dayton (Montgomery County)
 
Paul Mitchell the School - 000659
Toledo (Lucas County)
 
Moler Hollywood - 000601
Cincinnati (Hamilton County)
 
Now Hiring! Barber Inspector Position - Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Applications are now being accepted for a Barber Inspector for the Northeast Ohio area. The link below provides information about the position.

https://dasstateoh.taleo.net/careersection/oh_ext/jobdetail.ftl?job=180005MT&tz=GMT-05%3A00

You will need to go to:  https://dasstateoh.taleo.net/careersection/oh_ext/jobsearch.ftl?lang=en  to create an account and submit an application. Only online applications can be accepted.

 
New eLicense System (Published) - Wednesday, April 25, 2018
On April 23, 2018, the eLicense Ohio System went LIVE!  Existing licensees must register in the new system by creating an account.  A security code will be sent to licensees within the next few weeks, which will allow licensees to create their account in the new system.  This notification will come by email or postal mail, if you do not have a valid email address on record. As an alternative, you may access eLicense Ohio directly and request your security code by clicking on  - .  Complete the form and click on

.

New users will create an account by accessing the new system using the link below.  Full instructions and video tutorials are available by clicking on the tabs at the top of the home page.  New examinee information is found under EXAM/SCHOOL INFO.  License application information can be found under FORMS/APPLICATIONS.  Renewal information can be found under LICENSE RENEWAL/RESTORATION.

To use the new eLicense Ohio system, it is recommended you use one of the following browsers:

  • Google Chrome (recommended)
  • Mozilla Firefox
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer (Version 11)
 
eLicense System Transaction Fee (Published) - Wednesday, April 25, 2018

In accordance with Ohio Revised Code 125.18 (E) and temporary law Sec. 207.40-Professions Licensing System, as amended by Am. Sub. HB 49 effective July 1, 2017, an eLicense System Transaction Fee is assessed on each license or permit issued as part of the electronic licensing system operated by the Ohio Department of Administrative Services. A $3.50 fee is charged to all transactions, regardless of form, that immediately precede the issuance, renewal, reinstatement, reactivation of, or other activity that results in, a license or permit to operate as a regulated professional or entity. Each license or registration is a separate transaction to which a fee under this section applies. Licensing boards and commissions do not receive revenue from this eLicense System Transaction Fee. The eLicense System Transaction Fee is nonrefundable.

If you have any difficulty creating an account or applying for a license, you may contact the helpdesk at 855-405-5514

 
Board Meeting
The Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber Board
Board Meeting for the month of December has been cancelled
The next Board meeting will be held on
Monday, January 14, 2019, at 1:00 p.m.
at the offices of the Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber Board
 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC RULES HEARING
 
Acting under the authority of the Ohio Revised Code Sections 119.03, the Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber
Board hereby announces a public rules hearing will be held Friday, January 4, 2019, at 9:00 a.m. in the Board Room,
1929 Gateway Circle, Grove City, Ohio.

About the Board

Am. Sub. H.B. 49 was signed into law by Governor John R. Kasich on July 1, 2017, which created the Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber Board (COS), effective January 21, 2018. This newly formed agency will continue the work of the former Boards through the effective licensing and regulation of Cosmetology, branches of cosmetology, Barbering, and Tanning Services.  Over the next few months, the new Board will be working hard to improve workflow, application processing, examination services, and updating rules.  Licensees are encouraged to regularly visit the Board’s website www.cos.ohio.gov to obtain a variety of information on the Board’s activities, including meeting minutes, meeting announcements, rule filings, and frequently asked questions.  Questions relating to the new Board can be sent by email to ohiocos@cos.ohio.gov or by telephoning the Board at (614) 466-3834.